Canadian

POE011000

A Nice Place To Visit (PDF)

$12.49

It’s difficult to describe A Nice Place to Visit. Some will say it’s not a book of poetry at all — but that’s just because it’s funny and has reviews of bad movies and advice on things like love. Also, it’s a kind of travelogue: you get to go to Costa Rica and look at plants and and stuff and think more about love. And oh yeah, the book tells you who not to sleep with — that’s very important. And have you ever heard of John Wildman, the guy who starred in the Canadian hit movie My American Cousin?

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Paper Radio (PDF)

$12.49

In her first book, Damian Rogers tracks the transformative moment, where emotion and deep memory seek form through sound and image. Her poems tune into a stream of cosmic chatter, channeling voices that tell their stories slant, from a chaste nineteenth century utopian mystic to a chorus of crones to the radical characters of Detroits sixties-era radical underground. Examining the equally futile and seductive impulses to chase both chaos and perfection, Rogers taps into history and mythology as each transmission mines material that is at once personal and public.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Always Die Before Your Mother (PDF)

$9.95

Like an embedded journalist, Patrick Woodcock writes his poetry from the front lines of experience.

From cities reeling from the trauma of siege warfare to the stifling heat and politics of the Arabian Peninsula to the darkest corners of the South American rain forest, Woodcock's poems bear witness to a world that is equally immediate and remote... and far more complex than we often imagine.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music (PDF)

$11.49

“In the age of increasing surveillance of borders, the border is where every thing significant occurs; map the border and you begin to understand the pulse of a nation,” Asher Ghaffar writes in the introduction to Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music, his debut collection of poetry. In 2003, he was stopped at the Wagah border post, where hundreds gather to watch the spectacle of the aggressive flag-lowering ceremony on both the Indian and Pakistani side.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Augustine in Carthage, and Other Poems (epub)

$11.49

Augustine in Carthage, and Other Poems is the daring new collection of poetry from Alessandro Porco.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music (epub)

$11.49

“In the age of increasing surveillance of borders, the border is where every thing significant occurs; map the border and you begin to understand the pulse of a nation,” Asher Ghaffar writes in the introduction to Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music, his debut collection of poetry. In 2003, he was stopped at the Wagah border post, where hundreds gather to watch the spectacle of the aggressive flag-lowering ceremony on both the Indian and Pakistani side.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Reading the Bible Backwards (epub)

$11.49

Reverse engineering the word, meme splicing, morpheme replacement therapy, phonetic modifications: these are some of the techniques in play throughout Reading the Bible Backwards, the lyrical thought experiments that make up this eagerly anticipated new collection of poems by Robert Priest. By throwing the Bible and other cultural narratives on the turntable and spinning them backwards, Priest unleashes surprisingly new but strangely familiar music and meaning.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

The North End Poems (epub)

$11.49

With The North End Poems, his always vivid new collection, Michael Knox has further honed his lucid, accessible style. In the tradition of The Collected Works of Billy the Kid, Michael Ondaatje’s classic book-length poem, this at once gritty and tender lyric sequence creates a desperate but surprising narrative that’s reminiscent of David Adams Richards at his very best.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

the real made up (epub)

$11.49

From the moment we learn to speak we are always using other people's words. the real made up improvises on this simple idea of imitation; mimicry becomes a kind of cadence for an interweaving of transcribed speech, ironic song, jarring randomization, post–colonial irony, and blatant theft. An incessant imitative dialogue shapes our neural and cultural networks; imitation is a source of power for any subculture, and the primary means of a colonizing process that should be seen as violent.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

More To Keep Us Warm (epub)

$11.49

Winner of 2008 Governor General's Literary Award for Poetry.

Both chronicle and confrontation, the poems of Jacob Scheier’s debut work out and through notions of loss. As the death of a young man’s mother instigates and informs these investigations, the realities of romantic failures become inextricably connected, and in the process More To Keep Us Warm maps the limitations, and breaking points, of the human heart. Questioning how and why we fall in and out of love becomes the collection’s haunting refrain.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Syndicate content