Canadian

POE011000

Always Die Before Your Mother (PDF)

$9.95

Like an embedded journalist, Patrick Woodcock writes his poetry from the front lines of experience.

From cities reeling from the trauma of siege warfare to the stifling heat and politics of the Arabian Peninsula to the darkest corners of the South American rain forest, Woodcock's poems bear witness to a world that is equally immediate and remote... and far more complex than we often imagine.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music (PDF)

$11.49

“In the age of increasing surveillance of borders, the border is where every thing significant occurs; map the border and you begin to understand the pulse of a nation,” Asher Ghaffar writes in the introduction to Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music, his debut collection of poetry. In 2003, he was stopped at the Wagah border post, where hundreds gather to watch the spectacle of the aggressive flag-lowering ceremony on both the Indian and Pakistani side.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
pdf

More Books About:

Augustine in Carthage, and Other Poems (epub)

$11.49

Augustine in Carthage, and Other Poems is the daring new collection of poetry from Alessandro Porco.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music (epub)

$11.49

“In the age of increasing surveillance of borders, the border is where every thing significant occurs; map the border and you begin to understand the pulse of a nation,” Asher Ghaffar writes in the introduction to Wasps in a Golden Dream Hum a Strange Music, his debut collection of poetry. In 2003, he was stopped at the Wagah border post, where hundreds gather to watch the spectacle of the aggressive flag-lowering ceremony on both the Indian and Pakistani side.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Reading the Bible Backwards (epub)

$11.49

Reverse engineering the word, meme splicing, morpheme replacement therapy, phonetic modifications: these are some of the techniques in play throughout Reading the Bible Backwards, the lyrical thought experiments that make up this eagerly anticipated new collection of poems by Robert Priest. By throwing the Bible and other cultural narratives on the turntable and spinning them backwards, Priest unleashes surprisingly new but strangely familiar music and meaning.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

The North End Poems (epub)

$11.49

With The North End Poems, his always vivid new collection, Michael Knox has further honed his lucid, accessible style. In the tradition of The Collected Works of Billy the Kid, Michael Ondaatje’s classic book-length poem, this at once gritty and tender lyric sequence creates a desperate but surprising narrative that’s reminiscent of David Adams Richards at his very best.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

the real made up (epub)

$11.49

From the moment we learn to speak we are always using other people's words. the real made up improvises on this simple idea of imitation; mimicry becomes a kind of cadence for an interweaving of transcribed speech, ironic song, jarring randomization, post–colonial irony, and blatant theft. An incessant imitative dialogue shapes our neural and cultural networks; imitation is a source of power for any subculture, and the primary means of a colonizing process that should be seen as violent.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

More To Keep Us Warm (epub)

$11.49

Winner of 2008 Governor General's Literary Award for Poetry.

Both chronicle and confrontation, the poems of Jacob Scheier’s debut work out and through notions of loss. As the death of a young man’s mother instigates and informs these investigations, the realities of romantic failures become inextricably connected, and in the process More To Keep Us Warm maps the limitations, and breaking points, of the human heart. Questioning how and why we fall in and out of love becomes the collection’s haunting refrain.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Seven Into Even (epub)

$11.49

Seven Into Even reworks Edmund Spenser’s The Faerie Queene in counterpoint to the seven deadly sins, and brings these vast references through a mesh of contemporary settings and issues in a series of poetic installations. The number seven works as an organizing principle: the book struggles with narrative and its constraints, questioning the development of characters as a poetic device, and reflecting on itself as it builds.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub
Audio: 

You are missing some Flash content that should appear here! Perhaps your browser cannot display it, or maybe it did not initialize correctly.

More Books About:

Play Out the Match (epub)

$11.49

Play Out the Match, Michael Knox’s first published collection of poetry, is also an extended meditation on the idea of reconciliation. Vivid and lyrical, the poems make use of various voices, speakers, and landscapes to explore the surreptitious aspects of fear and indifference, tenderness and fragility. In Play Out the Match, dollar store cashiers, Scottish pub brawlers, lovers, and cowards create a broad and sympathetic world of otherness.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Syndicate content