Canadian

POE011000

Reading the Bible Backwards (epub)

$11.49

Reverse engineering the word, meme splicing, morpheme replacement therapy, phonetic modifications: these are some of the techniques in play throughout Reading the Bible Backwards, the lyrical thought experiments that make up this eagerly anticipated new collection of poems by Robert Priest. By throwing the Bible and other cultural narratives on the turntable and spinning them backwards, Priest unleashes surprisingly new but strangely familiar music and meaning.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

The North End Poems (epub)

$11.49

With The North End Poems, his always vivid new collection, Michael Knox has further honed his lucid, accessible style. In the tradition of The Collected Works of Billy the Kid, Michael Ondaatje’s classic book-length poem, this at once gritty and tender lyric sequence creates a desperate but surprising narrative that’s reminiscent of David Adams Richards at his very best.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

the real made up (epub)

$11.49

From the moment we learn to speak we are always using other people's words. the real made up improvises on this simple idea of imitation; mimicry becomes a kind of cadence for an interweaving of transcribed speech, ironic song, jarring randomization, post–colonial irony, and blatant theft. An incessant imitative dialogue shapes our neural and cultural networks; imitation is a source of power for any subculture, and the primary means of a colonizing process that should be seen as violent.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

More To Keep Us Warm (epub)

$11.49

Winner of 2008 Governor General's Literary Award for Poetry.

Both chronicle and confrontation, the poems of Jacob Scheier’s debut work out and through notions of loss. As the death of a young man’s mother instigates and informs these investigations, the realities of romantic failures become inextricably connected, and in the process More To Keep Us Warm maps the limitations, and breaking points, of the human heart. Questioning how and why we fall in and out of love becomes the collection’s haunting refrain.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Seven Into Even (epub)

$11.49

Seven Into Even reworks Edmund Spenser’s The Faerie Queene in counterpoint to the seven deadly sins, and brings these vast references through a mesh of contemporary settings and issues in a series of poetic installations. The number seven works as an organizing principle: the book struggles with narrative and its constraints, questioning the development of characters as a poetic device, and reflecting on itself as it builds.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub
Audio: 

You are missing some Flash content that should appear here! Perhaps your browser cannot display it, or maybe it did not initialize correctly.

More Books About:

Play Out the Match (epub)

$11.49

Play Out the Match, Michael Knox’s first published collection of poetry, is also an extended meditation on the idea of reconciliation. Vivid and lyrical, the poems make use of various voices, speakers, and landscapes to explore the surreptitious aspects of fear and indifference, tenderness and fragility. In Play Out the Match, dollar store cashiers, Scottish pub brawlers, lovers, and cowards create a broad and sympathetic world of otherness.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Apostrophe (epub)

$10.49

you are entirely happy with your poem / you are not happy then there is no charge and your deposit is returned / you are totally satisfied with the outcome / you are a man / you are a little confused / you are entirely happy with your poem / you are not happy then there is no charge and your deposit is returned / you are totally satisfied with the outcome . . .

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub
Audio: 

You are missing some Flash content that should appear here! Perhaps your browser cannot display it, or maybe it did not initialize correctly.

More Books About:

Gutted (epub)

$11.49

Gutted, Evie Christie’s powerful and harrowing debut, pulses with the rhythms of life, loss, and love. Energized with the language of now and the wide scope of popular culture, while dwelling in Yeats’ “foul rag and bone shop of the heart” – a world where needs are unfulfilled and passions unrequited (or worse) – it also manages to revel in the beauty of fragility and discover awe in the smallest things.

Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Fruitfly Geographic (epub)

$11.49
Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Blue Pyramids: New and Selected Poems (epub)

$12.49
Product Info
Ebook File format: 
epub

More Books About:

Syndicate content